Currently Reading: Carniepunk

Image

Carniepunk is an anthology of short stories. Steampunk mixed with a bit of horror, urban fantasy and parnormal.

I’m not sure what I think of it yet (read through two of the stories), but the writing is mesmerizing so far. Both authors know to make you addicted to their writings. It’s not so much the plot (the plotlines are nothing amazing…dare I call them cliche?). But the words drown you — they’re bewitching and feral and full of tangled emotions. I’ve highlighted so much already.

I’ve never reviewed an anthology before, so I’m not quite sure how I’ll be formatting the review. Maybe rating each story separately, with a couple of thoughts on each? I can’t really judge the whole thing as one, since there are so many different authors.

Carniepunk might be something amazing. I’m not sure yet, but I’m gonna slow down my reading for Carniepunk. The words are so wonderful.

Leave a Reply

